Berbice claim “Dassy” inter-county trophy

first_imgBerbice claimed the 2018 “Dassy” 20-over white ball four-team inter-county one-day competition trophy after beating arch-rivals Demerara by 30 runs on Saturday at Keele Top Ground, Toronto.The victorious Berbice team strike a pose with their prizesBerbice chose to bat first after winning the toss and reached a moderate 106 all out in 16.3 overs, but Demerara were skittled out for 76 in the penultimate over.Only Ian Baldeo with 14 for the runners-up offered any resistance as Andy Persaud snatched four wickets for 14 runs from his four overs and was supported by Riaz Kadir, who collected two for 16 off three overs.Earlier, Berbice, led by former Guyana skipper Damodar Daesrath, struggled for runs as they lost wickets at regular intervals. The experienced Yadram Bogh played responsibly though to score 28, laced with three sixes.Captain Troy Gobin, an ex-Guyana youth batsman, finished with two wickets for 12 runs off his three overs.Persaud was named the Most Valuable Player (MVP).In the preceding two semi-final matches, Berbice beat Essequibo by 18 runs while Demerara got the better of defending champions Canadian All-Stars by four wickets.Berbice 158-7 off 20 overs: Farouk Hussien – 40 and Daesrath 28. Essequibo, in reply, 142-8 off 20 overs: Narindra Mandolall 61 not out; Andy Persaud 3-15 (3).Canadian All-Stars 117-7 off 20 overs: Rabindra Diaram 28 and Anil Samuel 24; Ramo Malone 3-18 (4) and Troy Gobin 3-31 (4). In reply, Demerara made 118-6 off 19 overs: Surajpaul Deosaran 37; Diaram 2-10 (4).Berbice received a trophy and Cds$2000, and Demerara collected a trophy and Cds$500. Persaud received a trophy for being the MVP in the final.Bogh was given a trophy for the most runs in the final while Persaud also took home a trophy for the most wickets in the final. Mandolall captured the prize for the most runs for the day and the highest individual score as well. Most wickets for the day went to Persaud while Samuel was given a trophy for the best catch of the day.Organiser Daesrath was full of praise for the generosity of the sponsors in 2018. The competition was inaugurated in 2017. (Ravi Madholall)last_img read more