Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma clinch ODI series for India vs New Zealand

first_img3rd ODI, Brief Scores: India (244/3) beat New Zealand (243) by 7 wickets to take an unbeatable 3-0 series lead. Rohit (62), Kohli (60), Rayudu (40*). (SCORECARD)Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli hit fifties as India chased down 244 in the third ODI at Mount Maunganui on Monday to take an unbeatable 3-0 lead in the five-match series. Rohit scored a fine 62 off 77 balls while Kohli made 60 off 74 balls – the pair added 113 for the second wicket.New Zealand would be thoroughly disappointed with this performance. They had batted and bowled poorly in Napier last Wednesday and at Mount Maunganui on Saturday. Kane Williamson would have expected his men to bounce back strongly with the series on the line but barring Ross Taylor (93) and Tom Latham (51), the batsmen showed no fight.It was always going to be nearly impossible to defend a paltry 244 against a star-studded Indian batting line-up. Even without MS Dhoni in their ranks, India have enough firepower to chase down such middling totals without seemingly breaking a sweat.India vs New Zealand 3rd ODI: HighlightsRohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan began aggressively and added 39 for the opening wicket before Dhawan fell to Trent Boult for 28. Virat Kohli then joined Rohit in the middle as India marched towards their second successive series win this year.Virat Kohli is now the only Indian captain to win back-to-back ODI series in Australia and New Zealand.Finishing touches courtesy @DineshKarthik & @RayuduAmbati after half centuries from @ImRo45 & @imVkohli takes #TeamIndia to a 7-wicket win in the 3rd ODI. 3-0 #NZvIND (@BCCI) January 28, 2019Rohit and Kohli missed out on hundreds but both men still managed to reach significant landmarks.Rohit Sharma equalled MS Dhoni’s record for most ODI sixes for India and became the fourth fastest Indian after Virat Kohli, Sourav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar to reach 10,000 List A runs.Meanwhile, Virat Kohli hit his 100th List A fifty, becoming the fifth Indian to do so after Tendulkar, Ganguly, MS Dhoni and Rahul Dravid.After Kohli was dismissed in the 32nd over, Ambati Rayudu (40) and Dinesh Karthik (38) saw India through.Earlier, New Zealand got off to another poor start after opting to bat. Colin Munro fell to Mohammed Shami in the second over of the innings before Bhuvneshwar Kumar removed Martin Guptill.Kane Williamson was dismissed by Yuzvendra Chahal for 28 which meant Ross Taylor had to step up and play a big innigs. He was involved in a 119-run stand with Tom Latham but once Chahal broke the partnership in the 38th over, the New Zealand innings crumbled.Shami was once again India’s best bowler on show and starred with figures of 3 for 41 while Bhuvneshwar, Hardik Pandya and Chahal picked two wickets apiece.India will next take on New Zealand on January 31 in the fourth ODI in Hamilton.Also Read | Hardik Pandya wants to forget what happened, was terrific in 3rd ODI: Sunil GavaskarAlso Read | Come on yaar: Hardik Pandya furious with Shikhar Dhawan’s fielding effortAlso Read | Dinesh Karthik is an ODI wicketkeeper after nearly 5 yearslast_img read more